Current Health Expenditure per Capita (WHO, US$) · country data
Explore all indicatorsUnit: current US dollars per person. Publisher measure: Current health expenditure (CHE) per capita in US$.
Current health expenditure (CHE) per person under SHA2011, in nominal current US dollars using exchange-rate conversion, not PPP international dollars or constant inflation-adjusted dollars. CHE concerns current health consumption across funding sources and excludes capital investment; it is not government-only expenditure.
Measurement basis: WHO Global Health Expenditure Database (GHED), based on country health accounts and harmonized SHA2011 expenditure data; country reports and estimates may be revised.
Reference-period cadence: annual.
Source update cadence: annual. This does not establish a publication date for an individual reading.
- Current health expenditure excludes capital investment and includes current health consumption across funding sources. The unit is current US dollars per person, not PPP international dollars or inflation-adjusted constant dollars.
- Annual reference labels can map underlying fiscal years. WHO methodology uses nominal values and annual-average exchange-rate conversion; the API calendar tags do not establish each country’s underlying fiscal measurement window.
- The GHO capture has no uncertainty endpoints or per-row comments. GHED publishes separate country notes that were not captured here; their absence from these rows is not proof that no country-specific caveats exist.
- Preserve each country’s own latest reference year and original source precision. Source Date is retained as bookkeeping, not a proven observation publication vintage.
Displayed values are rounded, with extra precision when needed to keep a positive estimate positive. Downloads retain the full numeric estimate and the publisher's original display text separately.
A “<” sign means strictly below the stated number. Numeric readings and uncertainty endpoints keep their own comparison signs. A number without a sign does not establish certainty or an observed outcome.
World Health Organization (Global Health Expenditure Database); retrieved 2026-10-01. Retrieval time is separate from an official publisher release vintage.
Download this immutable source capture · Source and coverage corrections
193 countries reported in this capture: 193 numeric readings and 0 upper bounds. Reference years: 2020, 2021, 2023. Point ranks exclude upper bounds and order numeric readings from highest to lowest.
One row per country, indicator and year, with raw values, source links and reuse notices. Thresholds have an empty numeric value and separate number/operator fields; value_kind distinguishes upper bounds from absent readings.
| Country | Reported value | Year | Point rank |
|---|---|---|---|
| Afghanistan | $59 | 2023 | 167 |
| Albania | $591 | 2023 | 79 |
| Algeria | $233 | 2023 | 125 |
| Andorra | $3,605 | 2023 | 26 |
| Angola | $76 | 2023 | 157 |
| Antigua and Barbuda | $841 | 2023 | 68 |
| Argentina |
Reported estimates and uncertainty · 193 rows
Each comparison sign applies to its own reading or uncertainty endpoint. Values retain source precision. “Not reported” identifies an absent reading or uncertainty endpoint in this source capture.
| Country | Year | Reading | Lower endpoint | Upper endpoint | Publisher note |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Afghanistan | 2023 | 59.06770706 | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Albania | 2023 | 590.62799072 | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Algeria | 2023 | 233.37947083 | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Andorra | 2023 | 3605.19799805 | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Angola |