Zimbabwe · Child Underweight, Under 5 (survey, %)
9.6%2024
Publisher note: Zimbabwe 2024 Rural Livelihoods Assessment Report and Zimbabwe 2024 Urban Nutrition Assessment Report
Unit: percent of children under age 5. Publisher measure: Underweight prevalence among children under 5 years of age (% weight-for-age <-2 SD), survey-based estimates.
Weight-for-age below -2 SD, WHO country-level survey estimates, both sexes, no additional disaggregation; retain survey comments. Reference years are irregular survey labels; fieldwork windows were not supplied by the retained projection. Matching year labels do not prove matching collection periods.
Measurement basis: survey-based estimate; reference years are irregular.
Reference-period cadence: irregular survey reference years.
Displayed values are rounded, with extra precision when needed to keep a positive estimate positive. Downloads retain the full numeric estimate and the publisher's original display text separately.
A “<” sign means strictly below the stated number. Numeric readings and uncertainty endpoints keep their own comparison signs. A number without a sign does not establish certainty or an observed outcome.
World Health Organization (Global Health Observatory); retrieved 2026-09-07. Retrieval time is separate from an official publisher release vintage.
Download this immutable source capture · Source and coverage corrections
One row per country, indicator and year, with raw values, source links and reuse notices. Thresholds have an empty numeric value and separate number/operator fields; value_kind distinguishes upper bounds from absent readings.
History and uncertainty
Charts plot numeric readings. Reported upper bounds create gaps; their values, uncertainty endpoints and source notes remain available in the table and downloads.
Reported estimates and uncertainty · 12 rows
Each comparison sign applies to its own reading or uncertainty endpoint. Values retain source precision. “Not reported” identifies an absent reading or uncertainty endpoint in this source capture.
| Country | Year | Reading | Lower endpoint | Upper endpoint | Publisher note |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Zimbabwe | 1987 | 10.5 | Not reported | Not reported | Report of the nutrition component of the national health information system. Harare, Zimbabwe, 1987 Converted estimate |
| Zimbabwe | 1988 | 8 | 6.7 | 9.4 | Zimbabwe demographic and health survey, 1988. Demographic and Health Surveys. Harare, Zimbabwe, 1989 Age calculated using alternate methods |
| Zimbabwe | 1994 | 11.7 | 10.3 | 13.2 | Zimbabwe demographic and health survey 1994. Demographic and Health Surveys. Calverton, Maryland: Central Statistical Office and Macro International Inc., 1995 Reduced age range |
| Zimbabwe | 1999 | 11.5 | 10.4 | 12.8 | Zimbabwe demographic and health survey 1999. Demographic and Health Surveys. Calverton, Maryland: Central Statistical Office and Macro International Inc., 2000 |
| Zimbabwe | 2005 | 14 | 13 | 15.1 | Zimbabwe demographic and health survey 2005-06. Demographic and Health Surveys. Calverton, Maryland: CSO and Macro International Inc., 2007 |
| Zimbabwe | 2009 | 11.7 | 10.8 | 12.7 | Zimbabwe multiple indicator monitoring survey (MIMS), 2009. Report August 2010. Harare, Zimbabwe: ZIMSTAT, 2010 Oedema data was not considered in the analysis |
| Zimbabwe | 2010 | 10.2 | 9.3 | 11.1 | Zimbabwe demographic and health survey 2010-11. Demographic and Health Surveys. Calverton, Maryland: ZIMSTAT and ICF International Inc., 2012 |
| Zimbabwe | 2012 | 11.1 | 9.5 | 12.9 | Zimbabwe Micronutrient Survey 2012 Results, 2012. Harare, Zimbabwe: MOHCC Oedema data was not considered in the analysis |
| Zimbabwe | 2014 | 11.2 | 10.4 | 11.9 | Zimbabwe Multiple Indicator Cluster Survey 2014, Final Report. Harare, Zimbabwe Oedema data was not considered in the analysis |
| Zimbabwe | 2015 | 8.5 | 7.6 | 9.4 | Zimbabwe Demographic and Health Survey 2015: Final Report. Rockville, Maryland, USA: Zimbabwe National Statistics Agency (ZIMSTAT) and ICF International. |
| Zimbabwe | 2019 | 9.7 | 8.7 | 10.7 | Zimbabwe Multiple Indicator Cluster Survey 2019, Survey Findings Report. Harare, Zimbabwe: ZIMSTAT and UNICEF |
| Zimbabwe | 2024 | 9.6 | Not reported | Not reported | Zimbabwe 2024 Rural Livelihoods Assessment Report and Zimbabwe 2024 Urban Nutrition Assessment Report |
One row per country, indicator and year, with raw values, source links and reuse notices. Thresholds have an empty numeric value and separate number/operator fields; value_kind distinguishes upper bounds from absent readings.