South Africa · Current Health Expenditure per Capita (WHO, US$)

$5372023

Unit: current US dollars per person. Publisher measure: Current health expenditure (CHE) per capita in US$.

Current health expenditure (CHE) per person under SHA2011, in nominal current US dollars using exchange-rate conversion, not PPP international dollars or constant inflation-adjusted dollars. CHE concerns current health consumption across funding sources and excludes capital investment; it is not government-only expenditure.

Measurement basis: WHO Global Health Expenditure Database (GHED), based on country health accounts and harmonized SHA2011 expenditure data; country reports and estimates may be revised.

Reference-period cadence: annual.

Source update cadence: annual. This does not establish a publication date for an individual reading.

  • Current health expenditure excludes capital investment and includes current health consumption across funding sources. The unit is current US dollars per person, not PPP international dollars or inflation-adjusted constant dollars.
  • Annual reference labels can map underlying fiscal years. WHO methodology uses nominal values and annual-average exchange-rate conversion; the API calendar tags do not establish each country’s underlying fiscal measurement window.
  • The GHO capture has no uncertainty endpoints or per-row comments. GHED publishes separate country notes that were not captured here; their absence from these rows is not proof that no country-specific caveats exist.
  • Preserve each country’s own latest reference year and original source precision. Source Date is retained as bookkeeping, not a proven observation publication vintage.

Displayed values are rounded, with extra precision when needed to keep a positive estimate positive. Downloads retain the full numeric estimate and the publisher's original display text separately.

A “<” sign means strictly below the stated number. Numeric readings and uncertainty endpoints keep their own comparison signs. A number without a sign does not establish certainty or an observed outcome.

World Health Organization (Global Health Expenditure Database); retrieved 2026-10-01. Retrieval time is separate from an official publisher release vintage.

Download this immutable source capture · Source and coverage corrections

Choose a year or compare countries

One row per country, indicator and year, with raw values, source links and reuse notices. Thresholds have an empty numeric value and separate number/operator fields; value_kind distinguishes upper bounds from absent readings.

History and uncertainty

Charts plot numeric readings. Reported upper bounds create gaps; their values, uncertainty endpoints and source notes remain available in the table and downloads.

Reported estimates and uncertainty · 24 rows

Each comparison sign applies to its own reading or uncertainty endpoint. Values retain source precision. “Not reported” identifies an absent reading or uncertainty endpoint in this source capture.

Reported estimates and independently qualified uncertainty endpoints
CountryYearReadingLower endpointUpper endpointPublisher note
South Africa2000236.08114624Not reportedNot reported—
South Africa2001202.81065369Not reportedNot reported—
South Africa2002179.5135498Not reportedNot reported—
South Africa2003286.01998901Not reportedNot reported—
South Africa2004362.28662109Not reportedNot reported—
South Africa2005400.5355835Not reportedNot reported—
South Africa2006417.91174316Not reportedNot reported—
South Africa2007455.17498779Not reportedNot reported—
South Africa2008442.10626221Not reportedNot reported—
South Africa2009487.62774658Not reportedNot reported—
South Africa2010621.41906738Not reportedNot reported—
South Africa2011686.87243652Not reportedNot reported—
South Africa2012646.49920654Not reportedNot reported—
South Africa2013593.80157471Not reportedNot reported—
South Africa2014539.30780029Not reportedNot reported—
South Africa2015491.90652466Not reportedNot reported—
South Africa2016456.56936646Not reportedNot reported—
South Africa2017527.52026367Not reportedNot reported—
South Africa2018558.80145264Not reportedNot reported—
South Africa2019538.80438232Not reportedNot reported—
South Africa2020503.46759033Not reportedNot reported—
South Africa2021592.9465332Not reportedNot reported—
South Africa2022570.48028564Not reportedNot reported—
South Africa2023536.58843994Not reportedNot reported—

One row per country, indicator and year, with raw values, source links and reuse notices. Thresholds have an empty numeric value and separate number/operator fields; value_kind distinguishes upper bounds from absent readings.