Sierra Leone · Child Underweight, Under 5 (survey, %)
12.0%2021
Publisher note: Sierra Leone Nationla Nutrition Survey 2021. Freetown: UNICEF, 2021 Oedema data was not considered in the analysis
Unit: percent of children under age 5. Publisher measure: Underweight prevalence among children under 5 years of age (% weight-for-age <-2 SD), survey-based estimates.
Weight-for-age below -2 SD, WHO country-level survey estimates, both sexes, no additional disaggregation; retain survey comments. Reference years are irregular survey labels; fieldwork windows were not supplied by the retained projection. Matching year labels do not prove matching collection periods.
Measurement basis: survey-based estimate; reference years are irregular.
Reference-period cadence: irregular survey reference years.
Displayed values are rounded, with extra precision when needed to keep a positive estimate positive. Downloads retain the full numeric estimate and the publisher's original display text separately.
A “<” sign means strictly below the stated number. Numeric readings and uncertainty endpoints keep their own comparison signs. A number without a sign does not establish certainty or an observed outcome.
World Health Organization (Global Health Observatory); retrieved 2026-09-07. Retrieval time is separate from an official publisher release vintage.
Download this immutable source capture · Source and coverage corrections
One row per country, indicator and year, with raw values, source links and reuse notices. Thresholds have an empty numeric value and separate number/operator fields; value_kind distinguishes upper bounds from absent readings.
History and uncertainty
Charts plot numeric readings. Reported upper bounds create gaps; their values, uncertainty endpoints and source notes remain available in the table and downloads.
Reported estimates and uncertainty · 9 rows
Each comparison sign applies to its own reading or uncertainty endpoint. Values retain source precision. “Not reported” identifies an absent reading or uncertainty endpoint in this source capture.
| Country | Year | Reading | Lower endpoint | Upper endpoint | Publisher note |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sierra Leone | 1989 | 23.7 | Not reported | Not reported | The Republic of Sierra Leone 1989 National Nutrition Survey. Freetown, Sierra Leone; 1990 Converted estimate |
| Sierra Leone | 1990 | 25.4 | Not reported | Not reported | The Republic of Sierra Leone 1990 National Nutrition Survey. Freetown, Sierra Leone; 1990 Converted estimate |
| Sierra Leone | 2000 | 23.4 | 21.6 | 25.4 | The status of women and children in Sierra Leone. A household survey report (MICS-2). Central Statistics Office, Ministry of Development and Economic Planning, November 2000 |
| Sierra Leone | 2005 | 27.2 | 25.5 | 28.9 | Sierra Leone multiple indicator cluster survey 2005: Final Report. Freetown, Sierra Leone: Statistics Sierra Leone and UNICEF-Sierra Leone, 2007 |
| Sierra Leone | 2010 | 18.5 | 17.6 | 19.5 | Report on The National Situation of Sierra Leone: Nutrition Survey using SMART Methods Oedema data was not considered in the analysis |
| Sierra Leone | 2014 | 13 | 12 | 14.1 | Sierra Leone National Nutrition Survey 2014, Freetown, Sierra Leone. Oedema data was not considered in the analysis |
| Sierra Leone | 2017 | 15.6 | 14.7 | 16.5 | Sierra Leone Multiple Indicator Cluster Survey 2017, Survey Findings Report. Freetown, Sierra Leone: Statistics Sierra Leone Oedema data was not considered in the analysis |
| Sierra Leone | 2019 | 13.5 | 12.3 | 14.9 | Sierra Leone Demographic and Health Survey 2019. Freetown, Sierra Leone, and Rockville, Maryland, USA: Stats SL and ICF |
| Sierra Leone | 2021 | 12 | 10.9 | 13.2 | Sierra Leone Nationla Nutrition Survey 2021. Freetown: UNICEF, 2021 Oedema data was not considered in the analysis |
One row per country, indicator and year, with raw values, source links and reuse notices. Thresholds have an empty numeric value and separate number/operator fields; value_kind distinguishes upper bounds from absent readings.