Mozambique · Child Stunting, Under 5 (survey, %)

36.7%2022

Publisher note: Inquérito Demográfico e de Saúde em Moçambique 2022–23. Maputo, Moçambique e Rockville, Maryland, EUA: INE e ICF.

Unit: percent of children under age 5. Publisher measure: Stunting prevalence among children under 5 years of age (% height-for-age <-2 SD), survey-based estimates.

Height-for-age below -2 SD, WHO country-level survey estimates, both sexes, no additional disaggregation; not model-based annual interpolation. Reference years are irregular survey labels; fieldwork windows were not supplied by the retained projection. Matching year labels do not prove matching collection periods.

Measurement basis: survey-based estimate; reference years are irregular.

Reference-period cadence: irregular survey reference years.

Displayed values are rounded, with extra precision when needed to keep a positive estimate positive. Downloads retain the full numeric estimate and the publisher's original display text separately.

A “<” sign means strictly below the stated number. Numeric readings and uncertainty endpoints keep their own comparison signs. A number without a sign does not establish certainty or an observed outcome.

World Health Organization (Global Health Observatory); retrieved 2026-09-07. Retrieval time is separate from an official publisher release vintage.

Download this immutable source capture · Source and coverage corrections

Choose a year or compare countries

One row per country, indicator and year, with raw values, source links and reuse notices. Thresholds have an empty numeric value and separate number/operator fields; value_kind distinguishes upper bounds from absent readings.

History and uncertainty

Charts plot numeric readings. Reported upper bounds create gaps; their values, uncertainty endpoints and source notes remain available in the table and downloads.

Reported estimates and uncertainty · 9 rows

Each comparison sign applies to its own reading or uncertainty endpoint. Values retain source precision. “Not reported” identifies an absent reading or uncertainty endpoint in this source capture.

Reported estimates and independently qualified uncertainty endpoints
CountryYearReadingLower endpointUpper endpointPublisher note
Mozambique199559.9Not reportedNot reportedMultiple indicator cluster survey Mozambique - 1995. MICS Surveys. Ministry of Planning and Finance. Maputo, Mozambique, 1996 Converted estimate
Mozambique199742.639.845.5Moçambique inquérito demográfico e de saude 1997. Demographic and Health Surveys. Instituto Nacional de Estatistica. Maputo, Moçambique, 1998 Reduced age range
Mozambique200150.749.352.1Questionario de indicadores basicos de bem-estar (QUIBB): Relatorio final. Maputo, Moçambique: Instituto Nacional de Estadisticas, 2001 Height/length modality (standing/lying) was not collected
Mozambique200346.945.348.6Moçambique inquérito demográfico e de saúde 2003. Demographic and Health Surveys. Calverton, Maryland, USA: Instituto Nacional de Estatística, Ministério da Saúde and ORC Macro, 2005
Mozambique200843.541.845.3Mozambique multiple indicator cluster survey 2008 (MICS). Maputo, Mozambique: INE, 2009
Mozambique201142.941.444.5Moçambique inquérito demográfico e de Saúde 2011. Demographic and Health Surveys. Calverton, Maryland, USA: MISAU, INE e ICFI, 2013
Mozambique201542.340.843.8Relatório final do Inquérito ao Orçamento Familiar - IOF, 2014/15
Mozambique202037.536.238.8Relatório final do Inquérito ao Orçamento Familiar - IOF, 2019/20
Mozambique202236.734.439.1Inquérito Demográfico e de Saúde em Moçambique 2022–23. Maputo, Moçambique e Rockville, Maryland, EUA: INE e ICF.

One row per country, indicator and year, with raw values, source links and reuse notices. Thresholds have an empty numeric value and separate number/operator fields; value_kind distinguishes upper bounds from absent readings.