Lesotho · Child Stunting, Under 5 (survey, %)
35.6%2024
Publisher note: Lesotho Demographic and Health Survey 2023–24: Final Report. Maseru, Lesotho, and Rockville, Maryland, USA: Ministry of Health and ICF.
Unit: percent of children under age 5. Publisher measure: Stunting prevalence among children under 5 years of age (% height-for-age <-2 SD), survey-based estimates.
Height-for-age below -2 SD, WHO country-level survey estimates, both sexes, no additional disaggregation; not model-based annual interpolation. Reference years are irregular survey labels; fieldwork windows were not supplied by the retained projection. Matching year labels do not prove matching collection periods.
Measurement basis: survey-based estimate; reference years are irregular.
Reference-period cadence: irregular survey reference years.
Displayed values are rounded, with extra precision when needed to keep a positive estimate positive. Downloads retain the full numeric estimate and the publisher's original display text separately.
A “<” sign means strictly below the stated number. Numeric readings and uncertainty endpoints keep their own comparison signs. A number without a sign does not establish certainty or an observed outcome.
World Health Organization (Global Health Observatory); retrieved 2026-09-07. Retrieval time is separate from an official publisher release vintage.
Download this immutable source capture · Source and coverage corrections
One row per country, indicator and year, with raw values, source links and reuse notices. Thresholds have an empty numeric value and separate number/operator fields; value_kind distinguishes upper bounds from absent readings.
History and uncertainty
Charts plot numeric readings. Reported upper bounds create gaps; their values, uncertainty endpoints and source notes remain available in the table and downloads.
Reported estimates and uncertainty · 7 rows
Each comparison sign applies to its own reading or uncertainty endpoint. Values retain source precision. “Not reported” identifies an absent reading or uncertainty endpoint in this source capture.
| Country | Year | Reading | Lower endpoint | Upper endpoint | Publisher note |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lesotho | 1992 | 39.2 | Not reported | Not reported | National nutrition survey report, May-June 1992. Maseru, Kingdom of Lesotho, 1992 Converted estimate |
| Lesotho | 1993 | 37.5 | Not reported | Not reported | National survey on iodine, vitamin A and iron status of women and children in Lesotho. Maseru, Lesotho, 1994 Age-adjusted; Converted estimate |
| Lesotho | 2004 | 44.7 | 41.7 | 47.7 | Lesotho demographic and health survey 2004. Demographic and Health Surveys. Calverton, Maryland: MOH, BOS, and ORC Macro, 2005 |
| Lesotho | 2009 | 39.3 | 36.9 | 41.8 | Lesotho demographic and health survey 2009. Demographic and Health Surveys. Maseru, Lesotho: MOHSW and ICF Macro, 2010 |
| Lesotho | 2014 | 33.4 | 30.8 | 36.1 | Lesotho demographic and health survey (2014 LDHS): Key indicators. Demographic and Health Surveys. Maseru, Lesotho: Ministry of Health and ICF International, 2015 |
| Lesotho | 2018 | 34.6 | 32.5 | 36.7 | Lesotho Multiple Indicator Cluster Survey 2018, Survey Findings Report. Maseru, Lesotho: Bureau of Statistics. |
| Lesotho | 2024 | 35.6 | 32.6 | 38.6 | Lesotho Demographic and Health Survey 2023–24: Final Report. Maseru, Lesotho, and Rockville, Maryland, USA: Ministry of Health and ICF. |
One row per country, indicator and year, with raw values, source links and reuse notices. Thresholds have an empty numeric value and separate number/operator fields; value_kind distinguishes upper bounds from absent readings.