Ethiopia · Current Health Expenditure per Capita (WHO, US$)

$352023

Unit: current US dollars per person. Publisher measure: Current health expenditure (CHE) per capita in US$.

Current health expenditure (CHE) per person under SHA2011, in nominal current US dollars using exchange-rate conversion, not PPP international dollars or constant inflation-adjusted dollars. CHE concerns current health consumption across funding sources and excludes capital investment; it is not government-only expenditure.

Measurement basis: WHO Global Health Expenditure Database (GHED), based on country health accounts and harmonized SHA2011 expenditure data; country reports and estimates may be revised.

Reference-period cadence: annual.

Source update cadence: annual. This does not establish a publication date for an individual reading.

  • Current health expenditure excludes capital investment and includes current health consumption across funding sources. The unit is current US dollars per person, not PPP international dollars or inflation-adjusted constant dollars.
  • Annual reference labels can map underlying fiscal years. WHO methodology uses nominal values and annual-average exchange-rate conversion; the API calendar tags do not establish each country’s underlying fiscal measurement window.
  • The GHO capture has no uncertainty endpoints or per-row comments. GHED publishes separate country notes that were not captured here; their absence from these rows is not proof that no country-specific caveats exist.
  • Preserve each country’s own latest reference year and original source precision. Source Date is retained as bookkeeping, not a proven observation publication vintage.

Displayed values are rounded, with extra precision when needed to keep a positive estimate positive. Downloads retain the full numeric estimate and the publisher's original display text separately.

A “<” sign means strictly below the stated number. Numeric readings and uncertainty endpoints keep their own comparison signs. A number without a sign does not establish certainty or an observed outcome.

World Health Organization (Global Health Expenditure Database); retrieved 2026-10-01. Retrieval time is separate from an official publisher release vintage.

Download this immutable source capture · Source and coverage corrections

Choose a year or compare countries

One row per country, indicator and year, with raw values, source links and reuse notices. Thresholds have an empty numeric value and separate number/operator fields; value_kind distinguishes upper bounds from absent readings.

History and uncertainty

Charts plot numeric readings. Reported upper bounds create gaps; their values, uncertainty endpoints and source notes remain available in the table and downloads.

Reported estimates and uncertainty · 24 rows

Each comparison sign applies to its own reading or uncertainty endpoint. Values retain source precision. “Not reported” identifies an absent reading or uncertainty endpoint in this source capture.

Reported estimates and independently qualified uncertainty endpoints
CountryYearReadingLower endpointUpper endpointPublisher note
Ethiopia20005.28970861Not reportedNot reported—
Ethiopia20015.50955105Not reportedNot reported—
Ethiopia20025.14964151Not reportedNot reported—
Ethiopia20035.70984173Not reportedNot reported—
Ethiopia20045.7385993Not reportedNot reported—
Ethiopia20056.4820013Not reportedNot reported—
Ethiopia20068.42413712Not reportedNot reported—
Ethiopia200711.63210678Not reportedNot reported—
Ethiopia200813.03863621Not reportedNot reported—
Ethiopia200915.1445961Not reportedNot reported—
Ethiopia201016.17102051Not reportedNot reported—
Ethiopia201114.62286568Not reportedNot reported—
Ethiopia201220.00217628Not reportedNot reported—
Ethiopia201319.26698494Not reportedNot reported—
Ethiopia201421.6064415Not reportedNot reported—
Ethiopia201523.21817207Not reportedNot reported—
Ethiopia201624.34373283Not reportedNot reported—
Ethiopia201724.18239403Not reportedNot reported—
Ethiopia201823.5205574Not reportedNot reported—
Ethiopia201925.93511963Not reportedNot reported—
Ethiopia202028.28001595Not reportedNot reported—
Ethiopia202126.06931114Not reportedNot reported—
Ethiopia202227.06845474Not reportedNot reported—
Ethiopia202334.79846954Not reportedNot reported—

One row per country, indicator and year, with raw values, source links and reuse notices. Thresholds have an empty numeric value and separate number/operator fields; value_kind distinguishes upper bounds from absent readings.