Kenya Economy — GDP, Growth & Key Data
IMF World Economic Outlook and World Bank readings. Each figure below retains its own reference year, source and unit.
- Nominal GDP
- $147.26B
- Reference year 2026
- current US dollars
- International Monetary Fund (World Economic Outlook)
- Series and history →
Unrounded value
147265000000 current US dollars
- Real GDP growth
- 4.5%
- Reference year 2026
- annual percent change in real GDP
- International Monetary Fund (World Economic Outlook)
- Series and history →
Unrounded value
4.5 annual percent change in real GDP
- Inflation (annual-average CPI)
- 5.9%
- Reference year 2026
- annual percent change in average consumer prices
- International Monetary Fund (World Economic Outlook)
- Series and history →
Unrounded value
5.9 annual percent change in average consumer prices
- Unemployment
- Not reported
- Reference year not reported
- percent of labor force
- International Monetary Fund (World Economic Outlook)
- Series and history →
- GDP per person
- $2,714
- Reference year 2026
- current US dollars per person
- International Monetary Fund (World Economic Outlook)
- Series and history →
Unrounded value
2713.604 current US dollars per person
- Population
- 57.5M
- Reference year 2025
- people
- World Bank (World Development Indicators)
- Series and history →
Unrounded value
57532493 people
- General government gross debt
- 71.6%
- Reference year 2026
- percent of GDP
- International Monetary Fund (World Economic Outlook)
- Series and history →
Unrounded value
71.6 percent of GDP
- Life expectancy at birth
- 63.8 years
- Reference year 2024
- years
- World Bank (World Development Indicators)
- Series and history →
Unrounded value
63.834 years
Nominal GDP: Rank 63 among 188 covered IMF economies for reference year 2026. This is a ranking of covered positive readings with the same reference-year label.
Each figure retains its own reference year, unit and source. Missing values are not zero. IMF readings can include estimates or projections; their stored release vintage, observation status and country-specific fiscal-year mapping are unavailable. A shared year label does not establish identical calendar periods.
Population follows the World Bank’s midyear-estimate definition. Nominal GDP is converted from stored billions of US dollars to US dollars. GDP per person is output per person, not a typical income; general-government gross debt is broader than central-government debt.
Kenya Economic Overview
Kenya is East Africa's largest economy and one of the continent's most diversified. Unlike many African economies dependent on a single commodity, Kenya's GDP draws from agriculture (tea — world's largest exporter, flowers — Europe's main supplier, coffee), tourism (safari parks, Indian Ocean coast), financial services (Nairobi is East Africa's financial center), and increasingly, technology. The economy has averaged 5-6% growth over the past decade.
Kenya's tech ecosystem is Africa's most innovative. M-Pesa, launched by Safaricom in 2007, revolutionized financial inclusion by enabling mobile payments for unbanked populations — over 80% of Kenyan adults use it, and the model has been replicated across developing countries. Nairobi is dubbed the "Silicon Savannah," hosting Google's Africa headquarters, hundreds of startups, and a growing venture capital scene. Kenya also leads Africa in renewable energy — geothermal provides over 45% of electricity, and wind (Lake Turkana Wind Power) is expanding.
Challenges include rising government debt (exceeding 70% of GDP, with significant Chinese debt for infrastructure), high youth unemployment, corruption, and inequality between Nairobi's modern economy and rural subsistence. GDP per capita at $2,714 (reference year 2026) remains low. Kenya's young population of 55 million (median age ~20) represents both the country's greatest opportunity and challenge.
Questions about Kenya’s figures
What nominal gdp does SOTW report for Kenya in reference year 2026?
Kenya: nominal gdp is $147.26B (current US dollars; reference year 2026). Source: International Monetary Fund (World Economic Outlook). Rank 63 among 188 covered IMF economies for reference year 2026.
What real gdp growth does SOTW report for Kenya in reference year 2026?
Kenya: real gdp growth is 4.5% (annual percent change in real GDP; reference year 2026). Source: International Monetary Fund (World Economic Outlook).
What population does SOTW report for Kenya in reference year 2025?
Kenya: population is 57.5M (people; reference year 2025). Source: World Bank (World Development Indicators). The World Bank definition describes midyear population estimates.
What life expectancy at birth does SOTW report for Kenya in reference year 2024?
Kenya: life expectancy at birth is 63.8 years (years; reference year 2024). Source: World Bank (World Development Indicators).